Skip to main content

Series: Naropa Institute: Transformation of Mind in the Buddhadharma (5 Talks, 1978)

An essential presentation of the heart of the Buddhist path, involving working on oneself directly in meditation, the truth of impermanence, the five skandhas, vipashyana, and how gaps in our confusion lead to sympathy for others. The simplicity and precision of shamatha practice and the hinayana path are presented as opening oneself to the experience of vipashyana, or clear seeing, and karuna, or compassion -- gateways to the mahayana path. In this context, Trungpa Rinpoche also describes the five skandhas -- the basic functions of mind that generate and sustain confusion -- and the need to cut through them in meditation. Other topics include maitri, or gentleness toward oneself; bodhichitta, or awakened heart; and the three essential elements of the hinayana and mahayana paths: understanding oneself, trust in the teachings, and developing a genuine relationship to the spiritual friend or teacher. This Naropa summer course was given jointly by Trungpa Rinpoche (who gave talks 1, 3, 5, 7, 8) and the Vajra Regent Osel Tendzin (who gave 2, 4, and 6). To listen to the Vajra Regent's talks from this seminar, copy and paste the following link into your browser:
Playlist Duration: 03:21:23

No Resource Found!


Your Browser is not Supported

To use aviary, please update your browser to the latest version

Download Supported Browser


I understand the consequences
Go to Homepage

Accessibility icon

Accessibility issues with this page?
Please click here to let us know.